July 23, 2017

July 7, 2017

Please reload

Recent Posts

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Featured Posts

Crimes Categorized

July 23, 2017

Crimes in Utah are classified into three categories: felonies, misdemeanors and infractions. To determine what category a crime falls into, you'll need to look at the law in the Utah Code (if state law), or the appropriate city or county code. Most criminal statutes specify how the crime is classified.



A felony is a major crime which can be punished with imprisonment and/or a fine. There are four categories of felonies.


Degree                       Possible Prison Term                                                           Possible Fine

Capital                        Life in prison, life in prison without parole, or death 

First Degree               Five years to life in prison                                                     Up to $10,000

Second Degree          One to 15 years in prison                                                     Up to $10,000

Third Degree              Zero to five years in prison                                                  Up to $5,000


See Utah Code §76-3-203 and §76-3-301



A misdemeanor is an offense lower than a felony which can be punished with a county jail term of up to one year and/or a fine. Many city and county ordinances and some state laws are misdemeanors. There are three categories of misdemeanors.


Class                           Possible Jail Term                                                                  Possible Fine

Class A                        Up to one year in jail                                                               Up to $2,500

Class B                        Up to six months in jail                                                           Up to $1,000

Class C                        Up to 90 days in jail                                                                 Up to $750


See Utah Code §76-3-204 and §76-3-301



An infraction is a minor offense punishable by a fine only, up to $750. Examples include city traffic violations and some disorderly conduct offenses.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow Us

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
AAND Legal Group